Day 9 “A Year of Thoughts”: Genes or more?

There is part of you that makes you like them, but there are experiences, life, and your story that is all your own.

 

Yesterday, my best friend mentioned how eyes are hereditary. We get them from our parents. We didn’t ask for a certain eye color when we were born and thats what we got. We were made to have the eyes we have as they are genes passed to us by our parents. I have greens eyes that have a fiery yellow to them in certain light and little tents of blue from time to time. My best friend has blue eyes that when they are excited they glow and almost turn more of a teal color.

As we talked about our eyes it got me thinking about the things that I have inherited from my parents, well a least genetic things. Things like my hair I know comes more from my mom’s side of the family along with my long legs, green eyes, and my smile. From my dad I got his teeth, his long torso, and my nose. Those things make up who I am physically but they don’t really make me who I am.

 

Life is not all genetic. It’s experiences. The things that I have done, learned, seen, heard, felt, remembered, explored, and the places I’ve been, the people I have meet and the whole of life makes me different. I am not my parents. I may carry some of their genes. I may have lived in many of the same places and might know some of the same people but I am not them.

 

I love my parents and all they have done for me growing up and the support that they have shown and still show to me. But there is part of me that longs to be different then them, to find a way to live my life that is even more engaged in what God wants to do with my life then they have been. To find new ways to think and live. To never settle for anything less then a full life. To never stop adventuring. To never not be honest with who I am so those around me might know who I am and where I am going.

 

Sometimes I think people set out saying I do not want to be my parents so they do everything in rebellion against the way in which their parents live. I on the other hand want to learn from my parents experience and move on. They have been a blessing to my life though there may have been things that they have done that have hurt me, however, many of those things I’ve learned from and allowed to push me to grow. That I believe makes me different. Learning about what I see in their lives and applying myself to growing, healing, studying, adventuring, and asking God to make me more into who he wants me to be.

 

Life is not about me or proving myself to the world. It’s about learning to love and serve the world around me. Like I have said before I am broken, I am part of a generation that needs healing and love.

 

I’ve found healing in understanding where I come from and where I am going.



 

I may be a man with green eyes but life is more than the eyes in my head and the things I have seen. Life is a learning experience, an adventure, and an opportunity to find the beautiful, awesome, incredible, breathe taking fullness that God has placed in front of us to experience. Our genes may be from our parents but God picked them out to make us. Our lives from the very beginning was full of God’s love. How we chose to live that life is up to us.

 

Learn

Live

Adventure

-Caleb Ross Hunter

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment